Charter Review Commission

Purpose and Membership

The Charter Review Commission was formed in late 2012 by adoption of Resolution 2012-45.

Additional relevant authorities:

  • Municipal Charter
  • Rules and Procedures for City Committees

The purpose of the Charter Review Commission is review, research and then make recommendations for changes to the Santa Fe City Charter.  In addition, the Charter Review Commission will serve as a model of transparency in government. The public will have every opportunity to participate at its meetings.

According to Commission Chair Retired Justice Patricio Serna, "nothing will be done in secrecy and the final arbiters of the recommended changes will be the electorate of the City of Santa Fe."

Charter Commission members:

  • Nancy Long, Vice Chair
  • Steven Farber
  • Houston Johansen
  • Daniel Werwath
  • Carol Romero-Wirth
  • Brian P. Gutierrez
  • John B. Hiatt
  • Roman Abeyta

Staff Liaisons:

  • City Attorney Kelley Brennan
  • Assistant City Attorney Marcos Martinez
  • Paralegal/Office Manager Irene Romero


Justice Patricio Serna

Charter Review Commission Chair
Retired Justice Patricio Serna

You Are Now Leaving The City of Santa Fe Website

Links to external, or third party web sites, are provided solely for visitors' convenience. Following links to other sites is done so at your own risk and the owners of this Website accept no liability for any linked sites or their content.

Any link from the our site to an external web site does not imply that we endorse or accept any responsibility for its use. It is important for users to take necessary precautions, especially to ensure appropriate safety from viruses, worms, trojans and other potentially destructive items. Users should review the privacy policies of external web sites and other terms of use to learn more about what, why and how they collect and use any personally identifiable information.


Open Alert